//
you're reading...
AFRICA NOW, Education, Foreign News, Inspirational Quotes, JOB VACANCIES IN NIGERIA, WORLD News

#iPGN: Why Your Résumé is Incredibly Boring

image

In a previous post (“Your résumé got my attention. Here’s why I didn’t hire you.“) I pointed out the lack of consistency I have seen within people’s résumés over the course of my career. The second thing I’ve noticed is how incredibly boring your résumé is. Yes, I do mean your résumé.

It should come as no surprise that people like to talk about themselves, in fact some studies suggest that people spend 60% of conversations doing so. It gets worse when it comes to writing a résumé; people want to ensure that they’ve written down every little thing they’ve done in their career to demonstrate that they’ve done as much as possible.

It may be appropriate at some point in your career to do this, particularly if you’re just starting out. As your career progresses though, you should be brutal in determining what stays and what goes. Ask yourself with each bullet of experience: does this say something about my skills that isn’t covered elsewhere?

I recently received a 10 page résumé (really, they expected someone to read 10 pages?) where someone listed at least five times for different employers that they had implemented the same set of tools. I was bored to tears after about four pages and had pretty much decided that the candidate would need to blow me away in the interview to be successful in getting an offer. They didn’t.

Here’s what I’d like you to do, right now. Open up your résumé and start reading it like I do – start at the last page and work your way to the front. As you read through each experience ask yourself if you’ve done something since then that improves on the skill you’re demonstrating at that point in history. If you have, then just get rid of the bullet.

What if you have no bullets left in that old job though? No problem. Just give a very high level overview of what you were doing. For my very earliest jobs at this point I just have the name of the company, my job title, and when I did it. There’s really no point in going into the details of what I was doing at age 22 – I have better examples of those activities since then. Here’s a target for each job: fewer than six bullets of experience.

If you really want to understand what I mean, ask yourself: if President Bush had a résumé, what would he need to put on it? I would say he needs only two lines:

President of the United States of America, Washington D.C., Jan 2001 – Jan 2009

    Leader of the free world

By no means am I suggesting that you need to get your résumé to that level of brevity, but keep it in the back of your mind as you review your own.

So today I’d like you to take your résumé, be very honest in deciding what you need to keep on there, and stop being boring by saying the same thing over and over again five different ways.

Posted From iProdigy Group Nigeria(Dabibi Ori-ibim’s Blog).


BBM Pin: 75BA8BA6
BBM PIN2: 263CB444

Send Your Stories,Reports And Breaking News To revivaldabibi@ymail.com

About iPGN Admin

iRep Zenith of Greatness,Innovative,I am a Medical Scientist,HSE Officer,HIV-AIDS HelpDesk,Music Minister,Writer,I am a change triggering medium.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 136,445 hits
if(typeof(networkedblogs)=="undefined"){networkedblogs={};networkedblogs.blogId=1387080;networkedblogs.shortName="iprodigy-group-nigeria";}
