#iPGN: The Future Awards Africa announces Board of Advisors

The Central Working Committee of The Future Africa Awards & Summit, TFAAS, on Monday announced its Global Board of Advisors, African Jury and full List of Independent Audit Committee and Board of Judges.


This was made know in a statement released by TFAAS.

A member of the committee and a Fellow with President Barack Obama’s Young African Leaders Initiative, Mfon Ekpo, said TFAAS is excited to present leaders from across the globe.

These leaders, he said, will serve on the Independent Audit Committee and the Board of Judges, and the Global Board of Advisors for The Future Project.

“As TFAAS has expanded in scope and become both a global brand and to reach countries across Africa, we are excited to present the distinguished leaders from across the world who will serve on the Independent Audit Committee and the Board of Judges, and the Global Board of Advisors for The Future Project,” Mr. Ekpo. Said
According to the Press Release, the Independent Audit Committee consists of leaders from across government, civil society and business from across Africa.

Members include Katja Schiller Nwator (Leadership Development and CSR Manager, The Tony Elumelu Foundation), Mahamadou Sy (Founder and Executive Director of the Institut Supérieur de Développement Local (ISDL), Senegal), Wendy Luhabe (Author, accomplished public speaker and thought leader), Abiola Alabi (MD, MNet Africa), Tonye Cole (Executive Director, Sahara Group), Ndidi Nwuneli (Founder LEAP Africa), Mo Abudu (CEO, Ebony Life TV), Gbenga Sesan (Founder Paradigm Initiative Nigeria), Eikem Nutifafa (Founding Partner, Oxford and Beaumont, Ghana), Chi-Chi Okonjo (Publisher, Ventures Africa), Victoria Trabosh (Founder, Ithafari Foundation), Taa Wongbe (Managing Partner The Khana Group), Ayo Ajayi (MD, PATH Global) and Jennah Scott (Director, Liberia Philanthropy Secretariat, Office of the President).

The committee also announced the Board of Judges, a peer review committee formed of African media leaders below 40, headed by Forbes’ Mfonobong Nsehe. The judges include Belinda Otas (Assistant Editor, New African Woman), Brenda Wendo (Deputy Features Editor, The Star Newspaper, Kenya), Billie Adwoa McTernan (Ghana correspondent, The Africa Report), Adam Bouhadma (Editor, 9rayti.com, Morocco), Michelle Atagana (Managing Editor, Memeburn).

The Assistant Editor, New African Woman and a Judge, Balina Otas, expressed his excitement over the young generation and their passion for better Africa.

“Africa is at a stage where its young population is needed in order to secure the continent’s future; I am excited about this generation of young Africans, for their hunger, their pursuit of purpose and their passion to see a better Africa. This is what The Future Africa Awards is about and am honoured to be part of it,” Mr. Otas said

The Global Board of Advisors is made up of some of the world’s most influential leaders from Europe, North America, and Africa,

They include Bruno Kone (Minister of Post, Information and Communications Technologies, Cote d’Ivoire), Mteto Nyati (Managing Director, Microsoft SouthAfrica), Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala (Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Nigeria), Frannie Léautier (Partner and Chief Executive Office, Mkoba Private Equity), Salem Mekuria (Professor, Wellesley College), Barbara Lethem Ibrahim (Founding Director, the John D. Gerhart Center for Philanthropy and Civic Engagement, American University, Cairo), Mutiu Sunmonu (Country Chair and Managing Director, Shell Petroleum Development Company of Nigeria Limited), Jamie Drummond (Co-founder, ONE), Federico Sarica (Editorial Director, VICE Italy), John Momoh (Chairman, Channels Television, Nigeria) Pat Utomi (Director, Centre for Values in Leadership), Obiageli Ezekwesili (Senior Economic Advisor, Open Society Foundation), and Anne Kabagambe (Director of Cabinet and Chief of Staff, Africa Development Bank).

Frannie Léautier, a former Vice President of the World Bank and presently Chief Executive Officer, Mkoba Private Equity, said he was also delighted to be a member of the board.

“I am delighted to join the board of advisors for this important project and I have been very pleased by the impressive achievements of the platform,” Mr. Leautier said

According to the statement, the platform has also been expanded to The Future Africa Awards & Summit, a two-day ideas-fest, where the continent’s most influential leaders and institutions with portfolios on youth will gather to chart immediate action-points for expansion of jobs and opportunities, as well as good governance and citizen engagement.
Nominations end on June 12, 2014 via the website http://www.thefutureafrica.com/awards/the-future-awards-africa-2014-nomination-form/ or via SMS on +234 802 2222 6712.

The Future Africa Awards & Summit 2014 is supported by Microsoft, the US Consulate and the Tony Elumelu Foundation. Official Media Partners are EbonyLife TV, AfricaMagic, Ventures Africa and Y! Africa.

MemeBurn, BellaNaija, Premium Times, and NigeriaNewsDesk are official Online Partners.

The official bloggers for 2014 are Omojuwa, Olorisupergal and Ameyaw.

Cool FM is the host radio station while Channels Television is the host TV station.

More information can be gotten from the @TFAAfrica on Twitter or the website http://www.thefutureafrica.com/awards. The official hash tags for 2014 are #ThisIsAfrica and #TFAAS2014.

Posted From iProdigy Group Nigeria(Dabibi Ori-ibim’s Blog).

BBM Pin: 75BA8BA6

Send Your Stories,Reports And Breaking News To revivaldabibi@ymail.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s